Last night we arrived home from a movie with Jake and the Braves game was in the 9th inning. It was 3-2 Braves! I shouldn't have watched. It always happens when I watch. I went to bed in the 11th inning. Seeing them load the bases inning after inning was too much. This morning I looked at the scores and saw that Philly had come back and won. Shocker!
Just now I was watching ESPN. They've been discussing the collapse of the Red Sox and the Braves all day now.
Mark Bradley, a writer for the Atl Journal-Constitution was being interviewed and they asked about the feelings in Atlanta. He said that Red Sox fans were different from Braves fans. Most Braves fans are used to the collapse, it just happens in October, not September. So true Mark, so true.
I grew up with the Braves winning. I was 10 in 1991 when the Braves came from worst to first. I was up late on a school night when Sid Bream came barreling down the third base line. I can hear the call still in my head. The next however many years, it was a lot and now I can't remember, I was used to them making it to the post season. Sure, they'd eventually lose, but it was normal. Recently, over the past 5 or so years i've come to expect the worst.
No comments:
Post a Comment